Tags

, , ,

Plastic surgery represents a significant amount of the medical tourism industry, and while it can be a great opportunity for many individuals to receive affordable surgery, it is also something that should be gone into with caution and after extensive research. Check at this article on plastic surgery from CNN’s Health Blog:

Anthony Youn, M.D., is a plastic surgeon in Metro Detroit. He is the author of “In Stitches,” a humorous memoir about growing up Asian American and becoming a doctor.

I make my living operating on people, but I don’t accept everyone.

I turn down one out of every five patients who consult me for cosmetic plastic surgery. Mostly I say no because of a patient’s unrealistic expectations.

“Dr. Youn, I’ve had five children. I’ve breastfed all of them and now my breasts droop down to my waist. I want my breasts lifted and perky. I want them to feel as firm as they did when I was 16. Oh, and no scars, please.”

Sometimes the risk of surgery simply outweighs the benefit.

“Dr. Youn, I’m 80 years old. I have end stage emphysema, two stents in my heart, and uncontrolled diabetes. I want a facelift. And could you tighten up my butt?” … Read More

 

